top of page

Victoria - Daisy Goodwin


Read a romance book that was turned into a movie.

Technically, this book was turned into a TV show, not a movie. Technically this book is a companion novel to the TV show. Technically this doesn't turn into a romance novel until the last two parts, when Prince Albert comes into the mix. But I love everything about this book, and the show so I'm making it count as part of Ryann's February Challenge.

I picked up this book AFTER watching the PBS series by the same name, and I'm glad that I did. Daisy Goodwin decided to write the show, and the novel, based off of Queen Victoria's diaries that she had read during her time at Cambridge.

This novel turned historical figures into characters like we had never seen them before, and it's introduced a whole new world of English history to me. I've always known about Queen Victoria, but this gave me an insight into her person that has me wrapped into her world and story like I never thought possible.

The fortunate thing about this novel is that if you've watched the show, it goes by very quickly while bringing the characters a new depth by giving you their thoughts and feelings in a third person perspective, rather than just watching it play out on screen.

The only reason I'm giving in four stars is because it's basically the script of the show written in prose, and that makes it easy to lose focus because its all things you've heard before. But the thoughts and insight into the characters is what makes it worth the read.

Wether you decide to pick up this book, watch the show, or both, it's definitely time well spent with characters you're going to fall in love with. You may even find yourself binge watching the show on repeat, and falling into the trap of Amazon's selection of books about Prince Albert like I did.

My rating:

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page