top of page

The Meaning of Michelle - Veronica Chambers


Read a book about a topic or subject you already love

Anyone who knows me knows my love of the Obama family, and the Obama White House. I framed a picture of President Obama and Vice President Biden on January 19. I binge watched interviews with Michelle. I wrote them a three page letter specifically to cope with the fact that they weren't going to be in the White House any longer.

When I saw this book at Barnes and Noble, I knew that I had to have it. Not only was it about one of my favourite people currently alive on the face of the Earth, but it was a collection of essays! By authors I had heard of! Including Phillipa Soo and Marcus Samuelsson! It was a win-win, and I was excited to read other peoples thoughts on the former First Lady.

What I didn't expect was a lesson on the Black female experience in America. In retrospect, I should have expected it. She is a Black woman from the South Side of Chicago, representing a whole community and being "real", while being a partner to the most powerful man in the world.

I got a look inside the Black female style world, social and political commentary about being The Wife of a successful man while trying to balance your own life. I got a lesson in what it's like living and growing up on the South Side of Chicago.

I got the musings from Mayor Bill de Blasio's wife, starting with advice given to her by Mrs Obama. I got thoughts on marriage from Eliza Schuyler (Phillipa Soo) and reasons why Mrs Obama is a good woman and real. I got a lesson in how she made the White House "America's House" and how she made it a place that felt accessible to anyone, how she made them accessible and relatable.

But most importantly, I found sixteen more reasons to love my First Lady.

Even if you don't care one way or another for Mrs Obama, you need to pick up this book. It's an important read, and one that I'm proud to have on my shelf.

My Rating:

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page