top of page

The Magician's Nephew (Narnia, #6)


A book recommended by someone with great taste.

Okay, so I'm a little late to the party (60 or so years late, but that's just details). I know this is technically book six, but it's the first of the Narnia books, chronologically, so that's the order I've been reading them in.

So basically, I have a collection of the Narnia books that have been on my shelf for years. I read Magician's Nephew and The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe in middle school. Then I put it on my shelf and it's gone untouched since then.

Cue my friend Ryann.

She's super into CS Lewis and all things Narnia, and she's pushed me back into reading all of them. Well, she and the countless hours I have spent with her family who are also lovers of all things Narnia.

So anyway, I've finally picked them up again, and I can't put them down. I read the Magician's Nephew in one day, and I'm in love with the universe.

I love the religious allegory. I love when Aslan talks about the White Witch and says that she will return but he'll make sure the brunt of her evil is taken into himself.

I love the Creation story. I'm reading a book by Tim Keller right now, called Jesus the King, and he goes in depth talking about the Holy Trinity. He talks a lot about the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit being three separate entities in an eternal dance of love and servitude, therefore making them one being. And I love that image paired with Aslan singing the land of Narnia into existence.

I love when he says "Awaken. Speak. Think. Love." because I got literal chills.

I love Aslan. I love what he represents. I love the way he's describes in the Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe. I love that he is a perfect depiction of love. There is so much depth to these novels, even when they're supposedly only children's literature.

I guess this turned into more of me gushing about Narnia than a review, but I think you're just going to have to deal with that for a few more reviews.

My Rating:

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page