top of page

The Horse and His Boy (Narnia, #5) - CS Lewis


Have you ever been really disappointed that a book wasn't made into a film, but then you think about all the possible ways that it could be messed up and you aren't so disappointed anymore? That's how I feel about this book.

This book takes place in the Golden Age of Narnia, when King Peter, King Edmund, Queen Lucy and Queen Susan are in power.

Shasta is a slave boy, who escapes on a horse called Bree. Bree is a horse from Narnia, which means that he can speak. Together they set off on an adventure back to Narnia, so they can escape a cruel general who has purchased Shasta and owned Bree.

This is one of those books that could be the most epic, most beautifully done film, if it was done in the right way.

They move from place to place, country to country together, meeting their fair share of conflict and new friends without it ever getting boring. I've read a lot of fantasy books where the travel time just gets overwhelming. So I'm very glad that CS Lewis keeps it to a minimum here.

All-in-all, you have to read this to read the entire Narnia series, but I think you should read it no matter what because I love it. I love the story. I love the scene when Shasta meets Susan and Edmund. It's just all so good.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page