top of page

This Modern Love - Will Darbyshire


So, I'm a year late to the party, and I'm so upset that I didn't know about this project and get involved with it because I have a lot I could say to a particular ex, but it's whatever.

This Modern Love is a crowd sourced book that Will Darbyshire wrote after he went through a tough break up in 2014.

I knew who Will was at the time, but I was also tired of the whole "YouTubers writing books to make a fast buck" trend that seemed to be happening between 2015-2016, so I stayed away from it.

I was just annoyed at the overload, of the overexposure, and I was also working through some of my own stuff at the time.

Then I started watching some of Will's videos, mainly collabs, but I started to really enjoy the person Will presents himself to be. (At least in the collabs. Like I said, I haven't watched any of his content yet.) When I realised that this book was like a curated document, I knew that I needed it in my life straight away.

I ordered it on Amazon, got it today, and read the whole thing in about three hours.

I loved the format, I loved the order, I loved the questions he posed to his audience. I love that he kept the letters in, unedited. It made it more real and more emotional than it would have been had he changed or corrected the language used.

It was authentic, it was cathartic, it was everything that I wanted it to be. The letters ranged from a sentence to three pages, each as vulnerable as the next.

I laughed. I cried. I felt nostalgia. Embarrassment. Hope, anger, fear. But above all, I felt love.

The love Will Darbyshire has for his users, and the love and loss the authors have experienced echoes in every single page. In every line, in every word, in every photograph.

This book deserves more of a review than I can give it, because I just can't explain how I feel about it.. Simply put, I loved every page of This Modern Love, and I think that you will too.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page