top of page

Flashback Friday

I'm a firm believer that no one is ever too old for children's books, so today I read four of them.

Okay. I would be lying if I said that I'm not behind on my Goodreads challenge so I read them because I knew they would be fast reads. Since I try to be honest with you, I'm just going to admit it. I've been so busy lately, I have not had the time to read any books. I've been using cop-outs to stay on top of my challenge (not that the Bible is a cop-out by any means, I was just really trying hard not to count those books this year).

So anyway, I picked up four children's books today. Two of them I have read before, two of them I haven't. And it was worth every second.

Dinosaur that Pooped the Past is hilarious, and told in a great rhyme scheme. The story is funny, and I love the two authors. They're members of one of my favourite bands, and I think this book is definitely worth a look. If you like this one, it's part of a series, and I'm definitely going to be looking into getting the rest of them!

Chrysanthemum is a book I remember from when I was in elementary school. I loved this book, and I remember purchasing it because I want to make sure I had my own copy of it for when I'm grown with my own kids. Literature shapes so much of who we are, I want to make sure my kids have a full scope of it.

Rainbow Fish was bought purely for sentimental reasons, and I've had lots of debates about whether this book has a good message or a bad message with people I worked with at Barnes and Noble. I think that it's a good message. I think that it's important to realise that you can't be vain, and that to be a true friend you're going to have to give bits of yourself to others. I also think about all the times I would stay at my gramma's house and she would read it to me and my sister.

What Do You Do With an Idea? was a book I bought because of how minimalistic the cover is, and because it was highly recommended by coworkers. I really think you need to read this book. I LOVED it. I loved every page. The illustrations were beautiful, and the story was important too.

Until next time.


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page