top of page

Day Two: A Book I've Read More than Three Times


When Carlos Fuentes returns to America after living in Mexico for a year, he doesn’t want any part of the life his older brother, Alex, has laid out for him at a high school in Colorado. Carlos likes living his life on the edge and wants to carve his own path—just like Alex did. Unfortunately, his ties to a Mexican gang aren’t easy to break and he soon finds himself in a dangerous situation. When Carlos meets Kiara, wholesome and quiet “good girl,” he’s shocked by the feelings he develops for her. Kiara is nothing like the girls Carlos usually falls for, but they both soon discover that in matters of the heart, the rules of attraction overpower the social differences that conspire to keep them apart.

Okay. I got this book when it first came out. I was, maybe a junior in high school. I would have to check the publishing date, but I can honestly say that I've read this book at least ten times, and every time that I do I get so wrapped up in it that it only takes me a day to finish.

I love the characters, I love the "opposites attract" romance plot. I like the "boy who thinks he's bad ass but is really a softie with an actual heart of gold" and the "girl who thinks she sucks but is actually bad ass in her own way" character dynamic.

I love that it breaks stereotypes of interracial relationships, I love the plot development, I love the character development.. And I love that Simone Elkeles decided to do a book about each brother, because that means I get more of the Fuentes boys and that's all that I need in my life. It's well-paced, too. That makes it all the better.

It's just a really great read.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page